WoW RSI exercises – The Westfall Harvest Reaper

Okay some brief context. Like many of us modern beasts I have given myself RSI. I’ve, as my mother likes to put got a good solid case of technology addiction, and when combined with my poor genetic materials (bad circulation and thyroid issues) and desk job which is something between a code monkey and a librarian that is curating databases and lists (omfg … the amount of clicking I can rack up in an excel sheet, it is literally enough to make your fingers numb)…. And you know I’m pretty typical modern drone on my phone… only I started treating it like an e-reader as well so I’m surprised my thumb hasn’t fallen off scrolling. Yup, I’ve got RSI.

It doesn’t help that I haven’t done a lot to fix or prevent this from happening, and when I focus on work it’s like raiding, can’t be conversed with, don’t eat, miss lunch breaks, look up blinking after something’s dusted and find its 3 hrs past clock off. I pffft certainly don’t get up every 15mins or what not for a walking break, that would probably annoy me.

I’ve got some exercises but get busy and neglect them, so to motivate myself I’m thinking of wow-theming them for everyone’s amusement.

So I present the first in a series of wow RSI exercise. I like to call this the harvest reaper because that’s what my shoulders sound like when I do it up and down the library open office planning.

The WestFall Harvest Reaper.

reaper

Stride up and down your office area whirling your arms enthusiastically around. When walking kick each leg out in front of you in an exaggerated marching stride, this helps you get into the rhythm of it. Balance on different legs alternatively while whirling arms to shake it up. The whrrrr-whrr noise I employed is probably not necessary but louder explosions of noise can be used to scare management back into their offices if necessary.

When turning on your circuit stop with both feet planted slightly apart and bend backwards as far as you can go.

Straighten up, then, not moving your feet, hold your arms out in front of you and spin your waist to the left, whirl your arms. Then holding your arms out in front of you again spin your waist to the right, whirl your arms.  Turn on one leg and repeat the Westfall Harvest Reaper walk back in the direction you came from.

A couple of laps is recommended.

 

*workmates offered to film me on their phones but I hissed at them, so for visual demonstration please do head to westfall and observe a Harvest Reaper in its natural habitat.

 

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, Humour, MMORPG, World of warcraft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

