Spark Post: 10/20 Days – Blog/Website favourites

Spark Post from: 20 Days of… WoW Blogging Challenge: by Saga of Spellbound.

Day 10 – Blog/Website favourites

Well let’s give this some structure, else I’ll be here all week – I am heavy into the internet after all. Mind you the detailed version is at the bottom of this blog page as I like to keep my resources close to hand. Let’s restrict this to blogs and sites I either visit every day or close enough to (eg actively check for updates personally).

My mother has often looked at me and voiced the opinion that I have an addiction problem with the internet… I suspect however its just all part of the era of smart-phones and perpetual connection.

Fav non wow blogs:

  • Hyperbole & a half – Really funny first person stories about life… complete with hand drawn cartoons. Not often updated but a good retro read in anycase, and lots of peeps live in hope, myself included.
  • The Bloggess – Humour, craziness and sex. I actually purchased her book and it was worth it 🙂 many of the posts on the Bloggess make me laugh and it is good to laugh.

Fav wow Blogs:

  • Life in Group Five – Shaman heals and connected to the Icy Veins website. This was my go to resource for the whole of cata.
  • World of Matticus – Now my go to is World of Matticus (and I have to say way back at the dawns of wow… well BC/Wrath… I was impressed to watch Matticus open the blog to other writers, I think that is how its managed to keep on trucking when other writers have folded.)
  • Healocentric – is another fav healing blog stop.
  • A Sunnier’s Art of War – Druid tanking and other interesting things. Tbh I just like the sunnier perspective 🙂
  • How To Priest – there is a constant flow of discussion from these forums, its nice to always have something in the priest inbox.

Fav WoW websites that I use like… well tools?:

  • Warcraft Pets – Now that pet battling is huge this site has become more and more useful. I especially like their battle pet datasheet which tells you what breed each of your personal pets are, then you can think about upgrading breed as well as colour quality. The forums have useful information.
  • Petopia – Every time I want to hunter for a pet this is the site I check. It is the pet bible.
  • Ask Mr Robot – I check this site at least weekly for adjustments and upgrades (even if I don’t always run with the suggestions to stack spirit gems /sigh). We also check our raiders with Ask-Mr-Robot as it gives a good overview without us needing class specific knowledge.
  • Wow Insider – The warcraft newspaper, cheapest wow related entertainment news available.
  • My Guild Website – Gotta check daily, looking for admin things or making the odd post, even when I am not posting an monitoring posts.
  • Twitch TV – this is where I stream. I spend a lot of time running the videos in the background at work and clipping features when peeps aren’t watching me.
  • Twisting Nether Podcast – Twisting nether is a great way to stay up to date with warcraft on the web 🙂
  • World of Logs – I do a small amount of raid analysis in here when it is needed.
  • Blog Azeroth – a blogging community, its a good place to get blogging ideas. Alas I’ve never really made a home on blog azeroth but I hang around 😛

Fav non-wow websites that get visited daily:

  • Tumblr – random crap for the win
  • Youtube – music and other procrastination to be had.
  • Deviate Art – peoples art, it’s nice.
  • Google Reader – my RSS feeds are all stashed here, everything from the Australian newspaper to IcanhazCheeseburger.com is RSSed for me.
  • WordPress – as I have a blog to look after
  • Twitter – when i have the time, isn’t that sad.
  • Facebook/Google+ – my social circles are all nattering away on these two platforms.
  • Flickr – for screenshots for my wow blog
  • Reddit – For Guild Wars 2 news
  • Guild Wars Insider – More Guild Wars 2 news
  • AnimeNews.com – for details on Japanese animation series
  • Crunchy Roll – Streamed Anime

… sigh I could go on but I won’t. All the stuff above may be viewed once a day to once a week.
Day 10.2 – Blog/Website favourites

Of course this week’s challenge could have been asking for the favourite posts on my blog?

In that case everyone comes here to “Find the Green Tiger” (I kid you not all search engines lead to the tiger), however my personal favourite post is “Warpstalkers Can’t Fly” and “Interesting Facts about Warpstalkers“. I used to love me some warpstalker, all the warpstalker posts are good.

In fact I think I’ll go label them all as fantastic in the wordpress interface.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, MMORPG, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spark Post: 10/20 Days – Blog/Website favourites

  1. Mr. Robot is PRETTY EXCITED he’s on your favorite list (he even made me use all caps to show his enthusiasm). Anyway, he wanted me to let you know that you might want to put a spirit cap on your stat weights. That will tell him to get a bunch of spirit, up to the point where you feel you don’t need any more. Here’s a blog post about editing stat weights (a lot of it is really basic, but there is a section about spirit caps in there): http://blog.askmrrobot.com/2013/01/how-to-edit-stat-weights/

  2. Bytes says:

    Bwahahaha – honestly how would we get our officering done in a small guild without Mr Robot? I shudder at the thought of having to investigate raider gear and reforge choices without Mr Robot on the job for me ^_^ (Glad you enjoyed the recommendation.)

  3. Bytes says:

    + bless you about the spirit stats followup! I can really use the advice. (I’ve been experimenting and have a whole post in the works… mostly because the guild is rather stuck on progression so I have the time.) Its lucky you saw my profile recently (lol for me) and not a month ago where I was trialing the mana choke experience – no spirit gems other than hybrids, on top of mastery stacking – anyone looking me up would have thought I was doing drugs and a bit awol. This week is the mana flood plan for WoL comparison and then I am planning on finding balance. [Thankyou for the guide 😀 it will be put to good use.]

Leave a Reply

