Spark Post: 7/20 Days – The reason behind your blog’s name

Spark Post from: 20 Days of… WoW Blogging Challenge: by Saga of Spellbound.

Day 07 – The reason behind your blog’s name

Reality AFK?

Honestly I was depressed. My close close friends and I had a massive RL  argument and breakup and I no longer felt comfortable in our cozy guild horde side. Logging in was like slapping myself in the face… with a brick. I gave up my hunter blog as it was pretty much all about them and me and our epic wow adventures. I moped. I closed the blog – even posted a pic of my mopey mug to see if I could convey my emo angst with a pic to the readership (I actually had one back then), a picture is worth a thousand words after all and I swore I’d never be back.

That lasted quite a few months.

I replaced Warcraft with the Warhammer MMO and tried to drown my depression over there with some solid PVP content. I went on a RL bender, met a lot of new people and eventually had other existing good friends force me to understand that honestly I wasn’t half as isolated as I thought I was… and despite my sudden lack of self-esteem that there were people all around me who liked me and were interested in maintaining a friendship.

Of course while I was down in the dumps I totally went slumming – found myself peeps who were more desperate than myself for human connection so that this time my friendship would be more like 90% to 10% emotional investment with myself in the cynical 10% vector. In this way I reconnected with an old friend who was homebound raising kids (desperate for outside contact) and she used world of warcraft to foster the relationship as she still played and in fact we both started the game around the same time so she knew I would be interested in the wow conversation.

It didn’t take much for her to talk me around into joining her guild on the Khaz’goroth Server – Alliance side. Well it took weeks, but considering how anti everything I was I think I caved easily because I really missed the game.

I server/faction transferred one toon (my Tauren Druid) to give it a go and it was wonderful to make online friends again and be involved in guild activities. I ended up server transferring and faction changing all my main toons and of course being active again in wow I wanted to blog about it. So I started it up again on a new domain. I didn’t touch my old hunter blog… I thought I would start gently maybe about the Warhammer MMO, or mix it up between WoW and Warhammer… I wasn’t sure. At first this blog was called “In honour of the Dog-Butt-Face” which was a major inn in the Warhammer MMO … and my first post was about how I tried to hide in Warhammer but it wasn’t as enjoyable as World of Warcraft and that I was back… thanks in part to having to gaze at that awful dogbuttface day in day out.

loldogbutt

Eventually I sucked it up and imported the old content from my old blog because it seemed a shame to delete it after all those years of writing – getting images back into that and tagging the posts appropriately is an ongoing project.

My name had to change eventually and I decided to go with “Reality AFK – party of one” because (a) I am a reality avoidant deviant and I play wow to escape real life concerns and (b) I wasn’t set on playing any particular class this time. I knew I wouldn’t get the readership I had before with this vague name and no class specific content, but I wanted to live the quiet life in the cyber corner I had bashed out for myself. The sub-heading of the blog changes to reflect in some detail the content peeps can expect to find lol.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, Humour, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

