Spark Post: 6/20 Days – Your workplace/desk

Spark Post from: 20 Days of… WoW Blogging Challenge: by Saga of Spellbound.

Day 06 – Your workplace/desk (photo and/or description)

It’s a tight fit in both my at home and at work computer desks.

Blurry home desk shot with notes

Blurry home desk shot with notes

At home that’s because due to being a share house I have jammed a bloody great desk beside my bed so that I can game quietly in peace.

Room is equipped with cat

Room is equipped with cat

I share the room with a cat (used to be two cats, a little black one where I took my “office stationary branding” idea from.) Because of this my computer is designed to be dust (read cat hair) and heat resistant – there is a CPU cooler in that thing half the size of my head lol and as you can see it’s a pretty closed system. There are tons of removable filters too. The latest edition to the set-up is a SSD, in the hopes that booting and game processes will be speedier. It’s quite good for recording game footage to a local drive. When we get the NBN network hopefully streamed video will be better.

(The whole town watches the Ditch Witch machines trundle up and down streets avidly. Then we pray “Dear Ditch Witch please bring my street the NBN. Lol my flatmates have had two false jubilations this month alone because they thought they saw the Ditch Witch on our street.)

This is my space.

This is my space.

At work it is a cramped corner is because I have just gone from having my own office (playing at being a baby academic on a contracted research project) to taking a secondment opportunity in the backroom-upstairs department (Tech Services) of the library – so they have given me a little corner for the year while I train up. There’s enough room for me and my computer and I am thinking of getting a shelf so I can have a pot-plant. It’s not bad really. The interesting thing about our work desk stations is the fact we all work from laptops that just dock at desk stations, so you can move at the drop of a hat and are reasonably mobile. I love the ergonomic desks and chairs, and the dual screens are pretty sweet.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, Humour, World of warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

