Spark Post: 3/20 Days – Your first day playing WoW

Spark Post from: 20 Days of… WoW Blogging Challenge: by Saga of Spellbound.

Day 03 – Your first day playing WoW

Once upon a time I lived in a share house with other computer nerdy peeps. We all played runescape online… but not the paid members version mind you only the free version because “who pays subscription for computer games?” – it really wasn’t done back then.

However one day we got curious and due to the fact that we WERE young and credit card shy, we all pooled some loose change in a jar (probably a pasta sauce jar) and we begged a slightly older friend to use his credit card to pay for el-cheapo runescape subscriptions … for all three of us.

It makes me laugh to think about it.

The credit card friend is responsible (almost solely imo) for the outbreak of wow playing in my country town. He researched online games found wow was coming out shortly and then he went a preaching to the runescape players and other gamers amongst the community. He wound me up about it well before release: Bytes “If you get World of Warcraft you can not only have a pet cat (I was breeding cats and selling kittens for death runes in runescape) … you can not only have not one but TWO pet cats, you can ride a giant cat and even turn INTO a cat.” This became somewhat of a mantra really.

I purchased a copy of the players guide well before I ever touched the game and read it in the crappy little bunk bed of a youth hostel in Brisbane where I was staying so I could do my Library qualification practical in the city. By the time the week was out I was more than ready to play the game.

However I didn’t get my own copy for more than 6months after release. I was a university student, I had to actually save to buy a computer game and after a week-long library practical outside my own town up in the city I honestly had no money. Hummm and I wasn’t at all sure about being able to meet the subscription fee.

Instead credit-card guy worked my addiction by letting me create a character on his account and play on the weekends.

What I remember from that first day in wow is vague… due to noobness my credit-card-owning-wow-pushing-dealer friend put me on an alliance PVE server and my first day was spent as a blue skinned white-haired night elf… hunter… of all things. I had a pet cat… they all had pet cats, it was a nelf hunter thing.

On my first day of gaming I recall being shocked that I could go in the water. Then I recall drowning. I was amazed that I went slower when I tried to run backwards. I was eaten by spiders. I fell off one of the night elf tree houses and died. I ran from one end of the elf area to the other and back again many times. I killed XX number of different types of wildlife. I melee huntered my heart out. I quickly became addicted to hitting the space bar while running – did the elves tumble from day one? huh I can’t even remember!

Spacebar Clown by The Greyfoo

LOL I don’t believe that was the day I fell off the side of the nelf starting zone and was shocked to discover that the nelf starting area really was actually a HUGE TREE! But that itself was also a notable noob experience.

But by the end of the first day I was in love with a world of dazzling cartoon colours and epic scenery, I even loved the crazy pink elves and their stupid giangantor ears … now it is hard to imagine elves that don’t have moth eyebrows and ears and hands bigger than their heads 😛

NB: This post is made 20% more exciting by the fact it was typed naked after an evening shower (ppppfft) of course setting it to schedule out in the morning should kill the buzz ^_^

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, MMORPG, Vanilla, World of warcraft, Xpacs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

