Working my way out through the BURNOUT

I was trying to make a list of what I do that is wow related so that I could wrap my head around the types of things I would be able to make posts about. The list below is my rather sad results.

2013-01-15 15.53.18

Sigh.

There’s the rub really, this blog was at its strongest when I first started – not just because of my enthusiasm for the whole warcraft and blogging experience because it was fresh, but because I did a lot more when I was putzing around on my horde hunter exploring Azeroth and the outlands.

These days what creative energy I have is sunk into guild matters, officering takes a fair amount of time in and out of game. Then there are the required activities to continue raiding – dailies, farming, LFRs and rep and valor grinding … they are all pretty tedious and draining activities imo, I’ve never been particularly wonderful with repetitive game aspects. My new wow-amon addiction aside.

Hum and the responsibility at end game is so high and varied I don’t really get the time for alting which has always been one of my great joys.

Still like the lingering wow burnout in my system I am sure I can work through it and bring my blog to life again. I ALWAYS come through my burnout, which hits me once every couple of years.

Heh that should be my post  something like: “How to endeavor to ditch the burnt out feelings and save your wow relationship.” Lol I mean we all know this game has been there for us for years, that it has a lot left to offer, that cheating with other games is always doomed to be a short term fling.

What am I doing about my burnout personally:

  • Well one of my tactics to beat burnout is of course to touch the blog, connecting to the online community reading other peoples thoughts and posting my own is a key factor of my enjoyment in the wow-verse. I’ll just have to drag some of that time spent in the guild forums to this blog, kick start things again.
  • Try something new – I’m going to start messing with streamed game footage until I get it right. Then I am going to attempt machinima. I love watching machinima, I can try to make it I reckon. Maybe just a newsletter in video format for the guild for now, maybe little videos of in game activities.
  • Reflect on the wow activities I used to enjoy, PVP – alts – retro raiding – and then perhaps take the time to do that, let some of the “responsibilities” drop off. See if I still like them.

What do I actually log into do in game these days, what are my wow activities out of game?

  • Raid heal (ingame)
  • Battle pet dailies and battle pet trapping (ingame)
  • Farming in half hill (ingame)
  • Herbing on the druid (ingame)
  • WoL analyst
  • Twitch –TV of raids
  • Guild forum activities and postings
  • Read wow Blogs
  • Listen to wow podcasts at work
  • Poke this wow blog

 

 

The ingame stuff…it feels like a starved little list doesn’t it?

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, Mists of Pandaria, MMORPG, PVE, World of warcraft, Xpacs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working my way out through the BURNOUT

  1. matticus says:

    I completely understand how you feel. Blogging and playing the game is a total balancing act. There’s certain aspects of the game that I really wish I had more time to mesh with. I want to get involved in more rated battlegrounds and focus on the whole battle pets thing. But if I do that, I’m neglecting my own responsibilities on my blog. I wish there were more hours in a day.

    As a tip for your blogger’s block, have you considered going a little deeper? One of your topics is Officer Business. Well what about it? There’s so many things involved with “officer business” that it seems like a broad topic in it’s own which is undoubtedly overwhelming. Try narrowing that scope a little further.

    Officer business
    * Responsibilities of an officer and how to carry them out (Leading, banking, managing, web site stuff, etc)
    * Discipline and reprimands
    * Motivation
    * How-to stuff (Always want to know how officers run their meetings or what they discuss, just general process based stuff).
    * Officer stories. Have a story of a good gkick? Or a hilarious event? That’s always a good one.

    Try one of those exercises where you start in the middle and slowly write categories and related categories about it. Branch out from there and see what you end up with.

    I myself have far too many ideas and not enough time to write them. Feel free to drop me an email if you ever want to chat about blogging or just need someone to talk to about this stuff. It should be in your form field ^^.

  2. Bytes says:

    Hey Matticus (many thanks for the comment 🙂 and the encouragement, it’s very nice to have contact in my quiet corner of the virtual world) – and great advice actually, one of my favourite columns is the drama mamas over at wow insider and I used to look forward to herding cat’s posts when she was more active. I suppose it will be a delicate balance talking about guild admin topics and then trying to avoid having guildies thinking I am posting about them personally if they stumble onto the blog in a fit of boredom (it wouldn’t be the case but you can guarantee that there is a personal situation within guild that will fit any given theoretical guild scenario you write about lol.) Heh and you should see the how-to section I have started to develop on my guild forums, heart of a librarian – I just can’t leave off without making many instructional use guides about… well everything. Oh… hey I really am feeling sparks of enthusiasm thinking about it lol – hee job well done /lovelove

Leave a Reply

