What motivates people to raid?

Well wow is not dead to me –  I’ve just been too busy to blog and pushing my limited creative juices into a new guild. See they made me an officer, so now instead of blogging I research 10man normal DS fights and try to make regular posts to the guild forums. I’ve been considering doing a cutnpaste from these just to keep my blog alive.

Being an officer opens up a whole new level of wow-politics I have never paid attention to. A lot of it has recently been about gear and how it is awarded in raids. I’m afraid I’ve a tendency to measure in game morality by my own … um morality stick?

I don’t really care about in-game loot… unless I am looking at it. And I am patient like a stone because the way I see it there will always be another run, another loot drop or another xpac making everything … well worthless in the scheme of things. This is probably due to playing since vanilla and watching the playing field levelled time and time again or maybe in part to being a non-competitive person (I joke about wanting to top the meters… but really so long as I can ace the come prepared, be knowledgeable and act professional parts of raiding … well my need to succeed has been appeased.)

In wrath I once the hilt and Guild banked it in the hopes it would further guild ambitions… I do regret that a little as it was never used for such… and I would have liked to see that quest line personally… but really in the long run it meant little to me.

Anyway in these discussions about raider rank and loot distribution the topic of motivation and incentive for players to raid was raised.

I always thought that when a peep wants to see this end game content… when they would like to acquire a particular piece of loot then the incentive to raid was already there. I suppose LFR may have had some impact on this.

For me it’s the people and the strategizing – I enjoy the teamwork and the group events and doing my job for fun and loot. But I think I need to research this topic some… when I have time… because the feeling seemed to be this wasn’t any sort of reward for turning up regularly or whatnot.. .

What does motivate other players to commit to raid?

I’ll find out and I’ll start by reading this wow wiki article “Raiding for newbies” ~ wish me luck 😄

 

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in PVE, Raiding, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

