Why do I like warcraft so much?

I have been introducing a friend to warcraft and she finds it ‘ugly’ due to the outdate graphics (being used to finer more recent games) and grindy. Lol but even she admitted when left to her own devices as a young huntard “that it was kind of fun and she had been thinking about it outside of the game”. Not bad praise from such a tough critic who ventured in predisposed to not liking what they would find.

Sometimes I wonder you know. Why am I so attached to this game.

Once I would have answered with certainty “it’s the people”… but a year ago the people changed, so my love for this game must have more going for it then my loyal attachment to the people behind the toons. Although… I have no doubt that this loyalty to people I know and desire to please is what sets me out herbing and fishing for raid consumables… because that is a rather boring if semi-satisfying task (Like cleaning the oven really :P) So people play a large part – a good and friendly guild motivate me to keep logging in like nothing else.

Is it the story? I don’t think so… while a pretty fantasy adventure that I enjoy partaking in, warcraft doesn’t offer much other games do not in that respect… it is only that after all these years I feel like I own the warcraft universe to some extent. That arrogant and insecure Pandarian video that blizzard released, even though it gets up my nose a little because the over enthused hero voice makes it sounds like Blizz are desperate that we long time players will still be there for Mists of Pandarian … well that video is close to the truth isn’t it. I have been standing in the virtual fields of Azeroth since Vanilla… I know the landscapes of this world… trekked though each expansion and revisited the destroyed zones of my virtual-youth in Cataclysm. If I want to visit the ocean I know which way I need to travel, if I am looking for herds of meat animals I know the most abundant sources are, and even I have some places I just like to fly through to look at the scenery. Wow is not ugly to me… these outdate pixilated graphics are familiar and capable of beauty in my eyes, and even in the familiar it is possible to experience the odd surprise.

Maybe warcraft to me is like comfy old slippers that occasionally attract the odd beetle?

I suppose what I am trying to say is; well I saw that annual subscription bonus and though “ah a ploy to ensure membership, they must be expecting a rocky period… maybe wow is ending” and yet I signed up anyway… because chances are I will be here playing wow if it is at all possible to play wow in another years time. Even though I have Skyrim purchased  and currently on download and am looking with puppy-eyes at guild wars II waiting for its release … I know I will still be playing wow.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, MMORPG, World of warcraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

