Avatar Naming Conventions

I have never been organised enough to develop one.

Mostly the names I select are chosen out of immediate impulse and what is accepted by the system, oh I have a few favourites taken from fantasy books… but they are my favourites not because I am modeling myself after a particular hero or whatnot, but rather because that name is rarely taken.

Take the name ‘Edanvant’ for example it’s a city in a book I happened to be reading at the time when I need a toon name – I just thought it sounded a bit elvish and that lead to the discovery that this name is rarely used so it became of my “default” choices. Mind you, now that I am properly guilded with a lot of alts tucked into the ranks, well if I had the money I would sit down and come up with a naming convention and then rename every toon I own.

In any case some naming convention tips:

  • Just like considering the name of a child one should sit down and think about how your fellow guild mates are going to shorten your toons title in conversation. Australians are particularly bad for creating short little nicknames for the peeps they know. One lovely hunter in our guild has a nice pronounceable RP style name… which unfortunately starts with the following four letters “Rash”… aye O_o peeps do happen to call her Rash for short.
  • There should be a pattern to the naming convention – preferably encouraging peeps to always shorten your name to the same thing on each alt… thus avoiding confusion with newcomers.
  • You can carry the naming convention over into skype/vent so that everyone is clear as to who is speaking.

My druid Tailchaser gets called everything from Tail, to TC, to Mr T.

I have a new priest that I did dub Teacozy because that shortened nicely to TC (and because I happen to lack imagination really).

Peeps won’t refer to me by name when I play Hardlove O_o I think the choices embarrass them.

But really I must admit that the messy names and the lack of pattern is pretty much my style 🙂

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

