Tank Blackmail

Was bumming around on my druid and queued up to heal some NORMAL ICC 5 mans just for the blind heck of it (don’t really need anything from these instances and I am entirely capable of running the heroic versions… still not really sure why I decided to do normal runs as well as heroic.)

Normal Halls of Reflection pops, I accept and I zoned into this immediate tank speech O_o

I must be honest my reaction was a bit mixed everything from “What no hello??” blink-blink to *man is he being fair by clearly stating his intentions here? Does this make him better than if he just waited and chucks a shitty and drops group at the time*

And then all my mixed feeling solidified into something along the lines of hey wait a second this tank just tried to manipulate the entire group without even saying hello? So that none of us dare need roll on that shield if it drops? I remember looking around the group and thinking that the peeps with me wouldn’t even use a shield so wtf – me (druid)  a hunter another caster (wants sp) and bah possibly a DK (isn’t there always a DK? but aren’t they dual or two-handed weapon whores?).  But more than that even if we had had an entire group of paladins and warriors… you know they all run normal Halls of Reflection to try for the shield and why shouldn’t they have a chance to roll for it? What does he think that the tank is the sole toon carrying a group through an instance??

I honestly believe that if you only want a particular item and you are not willing to bite the bullet and experience the random luck element all the other peeps have to deal with in the LFD PUGs then hell you should be running in a guild group or have sourced your random peeps in trade up at Dalaran where they can be totally aware of what they are signing up for.

I did something I almost never do . I initiated an immediate vote kick without first talking to the guy. Gut reaction.

It passed.

Even though I am certain no one that voted wanted the shield.

I frankly die laughing.

And strangely it didn’t hurt the group at all, we got ourselves a new tank only three seconds later, a paladin that no doubt wanted the shield – he was a good tank and nice to everyone and didn’t make demands as if he were the group princess (I would have felt bad and have had to beg a fellow guildie to  come tank for us if we had a wait on our hands.)

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, Looking for dungeon, PVE, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

