Is grinding ore like a chocolate snack attack addiction?

I am such an OCD nerd that in my downtime at work I made a list of possible Blacksmith crafted gear for my 70-79 leveling tank, and how much ore I would need to make each piece and then I tallied the ore and other mats into a neat “Grind for this much stuff” list. Not an unusual activity for a wow player really… I guess the difficult part was explaining to other non-wow peeps why grinding for ore was sort of fun when essentially it is a boring repetitive activity.

Process of the OCD nerd sort of went like:

  • Make a list of wants
  • Prepare another list on steps needed to be taken to achieve the ‘wants’ goals
  • Grind through list while waiting for a BG or instance pop
  • Tick things off list
  • Mail grinded ore to guildie and receive nice little bundle of blues for a leveling tank

….think for a bit, do some research on the webs…

  • Make a new list of wants (enchants)
  • Prepare another list on steps needed to be taken to achieve the ‘wants mark 2’ goals
  • Grind through list while waiting for a BG or instance pop
  • Tick things off list
  • Mail grinded mats to guildie and receive nice little bundle of tank enchants for the gear

…. think for a bit, do some research on the webs…

Aye it’s a cycle, a glorious cycle which results in some kinda internal satisfaction.

Wikipedia (the most trusted web pedia lol) has a post on motivation and the 16 human desires.

Essentially my cycle of wow grinding is satisfying at least three of these: Curiosity, the need to learn,  Order, the need for organized, stable, predictable environments and Saving, the need to collect.

And I get the social contact and the acceptance and the status stuff from belonging to a guild and chatting with peeps online to cushion the ore grind – that’s 6. It’s a safe environment online in an MMO so that covers ‘Tranquility’ make it 7, maaa really I got no need to worry about abusive customers or workmates here in the virtual land of dragons. I am exerting power of choice to some extent and ima off being all ‘Independent’… so that’s 9.

Heck that’s more than half my ‘human desires’ being sated in some mild kinda way. That’s at least as satisfying as munching on a chocolate bar!

Oh course it sucks if you overdo it… eating five blocks of chocolate will make you puke, as will grinding 500 murlocs monsters for 10 bloody eyeballs because your mace apparently explodes their heads or something when you kill them (puke-worthy experience.) But I recall in warhammer that the instant quest item drops (that you never saw) took half the fun out of the experience… and here I thought I was simply a little gamble addict. But maybe the instant kibble reward was just detracting from my sense of achievement O_o

Hey crazy thought: Could having a toon be considered raising a child? Stretching it? Meh lets say 10 outa 16 desires at least. Not bad for a hobby hey!

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Blah blah, PVE, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

