Culture Shock – I has found it

It was the three instances of Frozen Halls: The Forge of Souls, The Pits of Saron and The Halls of Reflection.

As Horde you are lead by the Dark Lady Sylvanas.
She is a hunter by the way see the quiver!

As Alliance I received a nasty shock to find we were being lead by Jaina
She be a mage.

It was my first real culture shock moment, no really I had one of those emotional physical reactions peeps often experience if they fall into an open world PVP situation and they have never in their life PVPed. My confidence it shook, I literally sat back in my chair when she started speaking. It is really weird but the Banshee Queen is someone I feel confident following – her voice is strong, her attitude delightfully violent. Jania didn’t seem to have much of that – she sounded emotional and … well emotional. Example sound clips below (spoiler alert if you have never done these instances.)

Halls Of Reflection: Alliance dialogue

Halls of Reflection: Horde Dialogue

But isn’t this weird the instances were exactly the same, the NPC has very little effect on how you run them and yet Jania being all… hesitant? uncertain? it had an impact on me. It took me aback a little and I had to adjust. Why?

Also come to think of it there is very little ambiguity in the horde plot line – we know our enemy, we kill our enemy, heck the man isn’t even a race the horde respect… he is just a human. Maybe we would also like to flog his awesome sword of power should that be to our advantage *cackle. When you are Alliance it gets all complicated and ethically yucky.

The horde players are very gossipy about their political leaders, we all love Thrall… I’m sure everyone on my PVP-RP server went for a walk to admire the dark lady’s makeover the week it came out. Most players I know want to smack Garrosh Hellscream in the face for being a difficult shit-head. We all know Jania because she is always dabbling in horde politics. Check out wow.com’s guide to current horde politics (its brilliant) horde politics, they are pretty involved.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Looking for dungeon, PVE, World of warcraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culture Shock – I has found it

  1. Anea says:

    Hm – I hadn’t even CONSIDERED the difference in leadership through the instances. I’ve only done them Alliance-side and so naively assumed they were the same leader for each of the factions. Not because Lady Sylvanas wouldn’t be a good leader (I know that she has many devoted… fans? subjects?) but because the Alliance’s bleeding heart story seemed that it COULD cross over… yeah, I have no idea.

    But I mean really Jaina – look where you got us with your “there has to be SOME good in him!” lame ass business. It’s Arthas.

    However! I am looking forward to (maybe, one day) doing the instances with Lady Sylvanas, so I can see the other side of the coin.

  2. River-dark says:

    Ahh I always just figured we were doing it so Sylvanas could have a shot at doing something devious like stealing the Lich Kings sword… and that Alliance were up to something similar… I’m discovering most of the plot Alliance side (well outside the great forsaken betrayal of both sides with the plauge – I think I helped make that earlier in a quest line.)

Leave a Reply

