World of Datecraft? OMG

This is an idea I would have liked to have had the patent for.

I am in the process of hooking an older female workmate up with the great world of online dating sites.

For purely selfish reasons.

No really, I can’t handle any more tearoom discussions about how eligible my male workmates would be if they weren’t all currently taken – these blokes are, for the most part, all a decade or two… or three older than me and while I may be as up as the next lass for sexually harassing any male game enough to come to work in shorts I’m not really up for imagining the lot of them as starring roles in any kind of intimate short or long term partnerships. So right now my poor brain needs a whole lot of dettol.

Anyway so I have succeeded in getting her onto some normal Australian dating websites where you can check out dudes in the local region and exchange emails – very cute stuff and the closest I ever come to playing matchmaker outside of being pushed into saying “Man my friend so-and-so would so-like-to-have-you-giftwrapped or failing that she’ll probably buy you free beer if you smile at her for a bit, why don’t you put her out of her misery already… I mean… come on free beer what’s not to like?” at the local pup (yeah don’t ever let me get involved if you want to impress someone… sigh.)

To get her on the dating sites I had to sign up first, demonstrate how they worked and lure her in with the fact that really looking at peoples profiles on online dating websites is a LOT like shopping online for shoes or something. Anyway that’s outa the way and I look forward to a healthier work environment.

But I had the thought (because I am an irredeemable nerd)… *man why doesn’t this work like looking for group, I could type in my server and find a bunch of interested parties horde-side on twisting nether … maybe have a few RP hookups where we bake cakes (no no not a metaphor for sex… bring out the dettol) and drink ales in an inn and harass the lowbie wildlife like the good ole days.*

Then I thought – ahh this is too good an idea, I bet it already exists, I had better google it, and whatta ya know IT IS OUT THERE!

THE WORLD OF DATECRAFT

datecraft

~dundundarrrr~

Datecraft describes itself as:

“Datecraft is a seriously-funny (and funnily-serious) way for those that call themselves “gamer” to meet others that share the very same interest. Browse gamers profiles, blog, chat, join in the lively forum discussions, post pictures, and more!
We are most simply a Video Game Dating Realm!

Gamespot did a review on them years back so they have been around for a while.

Actually, the most amusing element of this site is looking at the sample photos on the welcome screen – us nerdy types, we have a particular talent for the really strange profile photos. On that note – don’t wanna sign up and peek for yourself? well then 2 Girls 1 Larp has a brilliant lineup of some of the “nerd Muffins” on show.

I’ma just gunna go laugh myself to death over in a corner… oh yeah and be super disturbed that I found a local creepy type (guy I know from way back) masquerading with altered height and education stats on this site *shudder*.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, Humour, MMORPG, Old Blog Content, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

