Spell Damage FTW

I’ve always wondered, in world of warcraft, is FTW taken to mean ‘for the win’ or ‘fuck the world’?

In Australia yelling fuck the world can kinda be taken in the same spirit as yelling for the win … depending on the circumstances (you know, circumstances like riots, biker rallies and… stuff.) So I’ve always thought it was fuck the world o_O it seemed to suit the various situational uses it popped up in on /Trade, well that or maybe ‘Fuck the what?’.

I actually looked FTW up once and found that people were of the opinion that it meant anything from ‘for the world’ to ‘for the wookies’, ‘fight to win’ or ‘free the whales’ – online slang is a funny thing, sometimes you use the same words, but hey, you are both talking about something completely different.

Oh yeah back to spell damage.

I just picked up a Wrath strategy guide in the newsagents while I was paying my phone bill, you know just to look at the pretty pictures and the like. I was flipping through it and ended up in the Basic Gear Guide section at the back. It had a table with all the classes and what sort of gear they should look for, with a little info for type of armor (leather cloth etc) and desirable stats (strength, attack power etc.)

Bet you’ve guessed what hunters had recommended, that’s right Spell damage! It’s the new must have stat – oh they did have Attack Power and Agility listed but Spell Damage was the first stat-cab off the rank. This magazine had words like ‘expert ‘ plastered all over the front cover too – man, even non-hunter wow players know that if a hunter is rolling need on anything with +spell they are being a greedy loot ninja O_O.

 Harsh… think maybe I should be nicer to little leather spell damaged geared hunters if I see them running around? what an awful guide.

The Warlock would totally slap me if I started rolling need on her +spell damage gear… come to think of it so would The Tree.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, Humour, Hunter, huntering, Old Blog Content, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spell Damage FTW

  1. gnomeaggedon says:

    Funny.. cause I am sure I read someone’s blog post the other day where a hunter was need rolling on an item with spellpower…

    Looks like they got expert advice

  2. That is priceless. Hunter +spell damage is about as logical as Holy priest tanking gear. Hm, maybe I’ll try that…

  3. Lactic Acid says:

    @_@ I logged into a very old hunter character and found it had +defense shoulders (horror) I can no longer laugh… Spoke to the warlock and she reckons she remembers me saying something about thinking they were pretty and wearing them despite the bad stats because my pet did all the hard work.

    …now i feel so High School :p

Leave a Reply

