PVP pets ~ they still interest me

I have a slow project in the works to update my PVP pet page… heh and of course I am taking lazy steps to do this by bumming around at Wintergrasp or the various other battlegrounds (and on my server the last few times I logged in it looked like Strand of the Ancients has stolen popularity from good old AV… damn I wish they would revamp the old BGs.. maybe add a few new ones for each bracket.)

So off the top of my head, after watching various hunters parade past and shoot me in the back, I can say with certainy that corehounds and devilsaurs seem to be all the rage for the BM type hunters – of course maybe they only stand out because they are so noticeable. BG’s are also still crawling with cats. Gorillas turn up every now and then and there are dribs and drabs of wolves (there seem to be a bunch of night elf hunters who have gone for the horde-mount style wolf… I’m still waiting for Bliz to churn out an alliance cat pet for us hordie types :p ) and scorps they are still in the game. Mind you these are only the most obvious pets strolling past my screen, in one WarsongGulch match me and my spider faced off against some night elf and his spider *grin*.

Mostly I want to explore the idea that tenacity are the go for PVP. I mean are they? Cunning pets didn’t really rock my BM world despite the thought they would be great PVP pets although I bet they would work better with a MM spec.

I mean in BG PVP corpses don’t even stay on the ground long enough for me to get a hug off let alone feed the spider 😦 not like world PVP.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, MMORPG, Old Blog Content, Pets, PVP, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PVP pets ~ they still interest me

  1. KC says:

    I’m really surprised that you aren’t seeing more wasps and spiders. Wasps are a blast in PVP (they’re like the anti-rogue/catdruid), and spiders seem like they would be really fun.

    Maybe wasps aren’t as fun at 80?

  2. Lactic Acid says:

    Hee I did see one and it was so pretty it hypnotised me while its Draenei owner shot me to death.

    I must admit I don’t have one at 80 although I would really like to take one out for a buzz, I’m just up to the leveling of my third pet, which will probably be the spider I have in the stables. Unfortunately pet leveling has to happen outside of the BG so it’s slow going.

  3. KC says:

    I really wish they’d let pets level on honor as well as XP! That would be amazing.

  4. Spooner says:

    I’m starting to HATE leveling a pet. I have a gimpy Rhino right now on my hunter because I accidentally lost my gorilla pet. I’ll have to push 8 levels before I can tame a new one or sit back in Northrend with a very weak tanking pet that won’t hold aggro. Sticking with the rhino for now but Thunderstomp is so freaking good…

    As for PVP I found that a Silithid was doing terrible things to people’s rectums.

  5. Lactic Acid says:

    Oh yeah – right there with ya.

    Tanking pets are sad when they are under leveled eh 😦 I found mine had trouble holding aggro even compared to a similar leveled ferocity pet… which in turn was uber squishy.

    At one point there I was just taming pets for their similar level as I needed them.

Leave a Reply

