WAR Online the pet class reviews

Frankly I didn’t dabble overly much in the WAR beta (between work, course assignments and this mega viral flu I have it just didn’t happen much.)

But I rather got into it when I did touch the game, mostly because I am suffering the same wow-flatline many are experiencing currently. Honestly if WotLK were out I suppose I may be revitalized … as it is I’m kinda logging in to wow and then zoning out within half an hour of gameplay.

So a taste of WAR online was a bit like “change is as good as a holiday”. I only really tried the two pet classes, Squig Herder and White Lion. But frankly in my opinion an MMO is an MMO is an MMO, there’s the usual character creation, questing and so on. Not being a WAR junkie like the ‘Freaky Gibbon’ (WAR guildie) I’m not overly into story or lore and tend to just skip through that – still the quests were doing their best to be full of interest and variety. In the goblin starting area at around level three (after a bunch of kill thing / collect things quests) I got myself shot out of a cannon and got to stuff a drunken unconscious dwarf in a barrel and kick him off the top of some castle ramparts. Fun stuff.

What I liked about the white lions was mostly character design… making a pretty blonde elf and then disfiguring her face with slash marks or missing eyes… rather interesting concept that.

Unfortunately the beta weekend had some broken programming which affected mobs and pets and made game play rather crap – just think lag – you know the drill, you click pet attack and the bloody sod is sitting under a tree scratching himself for five mins before he decides to listen to you. What I didn’t like about the Squig Herder was I couldn’t locate any sorta autoshot … and without my keybindings set up I was a frustrated button clicker … bah – click button click button click button, enough to make you want to brain yourself. Mind you taking the time to customize your setup would solve these sorta problems. It wasn’t so bad with the elf because I could basically just run in and whack stuff with me axe while waiting for the pet to catch up.

Pets were summons, I couldn’t see anyway to name em, all lions looked the same, squigs would appear in different colours come the next summons – pets were indeed very nice as far as graphics went.

In any case the following links have a more comprehensive review of these two classes by Sip of Waaagh! A Warhammer blog, so like the lazy sod I always prove myself to be I’m just gunna point ya to those:

WAR Online is practically live, The Pally’s moonlighting in Vanguard online and The Warlock is overdosing on Gilmore-Girl reruns… sad times for my wow life.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, MMORPG, Old Blog Content, Snake in the Grass and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

