1st rule of Fight Club is: You don't talk about Fight Club

So apparently I’m IN for the WAR Online beta (no surprise since they are close to release and they probably want to test how the servers handle a mass of toons… and stuff O_O since my application was pretty much the line “I am not a beautiful and unique snowflake” they must simply be signing up all the dribs & drabs for a final big bang heh.)

According to what I’ve read I can admit there is a beta, I can admit that I’m a part of the beta … but I can’t talk about it. Lol this is how Tyler Durden ended up with a crowd in a basement – guy never said you couldn’t say there WAS a Fight Club :p

First impression: Can’t say I think much of the bit-torrent download, it seems to be switching between 3days to 3weeks for a 9GB download. But I’m a spoiled brat when it comes to downloads.

Meanwhile a whole lot of people I know/know of have started a ‘casual’ guild before release. Ha you know how these things go, in fact check out the guild site: Bloody Convicts (AU guild) – WAR Online

Pretty much what I expected such an organised group of peoples to do really (a lot of them are volunteer committee members in RP hobby organisations and the like – that sort doesn’t sit on their tush when organising a guild before a game release.)

One friend, that we shall dub The Freaky Gibbon, has just had a panic attack because its obviously not so casual really, particularly if ya want all the guild trimmings and to be fully included. For full membership benefits you must be willing to play a lot etc etc – standard wow Raid guild stuff really. The Freaky Gibbon has never been exposed to big MMOs (you can’t count runescape) so he has had a bit of a shock to the system and he is making noises about starting a separate, and actually casual, guild.

What I’m trying to think of at the moment is a way to explain to him how much work guilds are if you want to achieve in game events that require guilds and the like (I’ve had local friends break under the stresses of running WoW raiding guilds etc) – I’m thinking I should point out to him that he’s looking a gift horse in the mouth because they do state they take on casual gamers too – just that you gotta shape up for big content. And if someone else is running the show you don’t have to worry so much about admin, guild drama – all that other high work load stuff.

Neh of course I dunno till I’ve played with em if they will turn out the sort that treat the non serious gamers like second class citizens so he may have the right idea. In anycase some interesting mild guild drama before it even gets off the ground though – heh.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, MMORPG, Old Blog Content, Snake in the Grass and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

