Housekeeping reveals… I'm a wolf-girl really… only in warcraft :p

Cleaned up my Stable Page a little – it is sort of up-to-date now.

I was listening to an old (really old) Epic Dolls podcast while I did it: Episode 19 – Interview with Mania for Petopia.

This was an interesting combination (podcast and blog cleanup) because it totally sent me on ‘Pets of the past’ retrospection, and I have already been thinking about the spirit of Christmas hunter-pet future.

Wolves were my thing because I started as a NE, and strangely (being a RL cat lover) I went completely the other way and tamed a wolf at the first opportunity. That NE wasn’t really mine – just a toon on a friends account as they successfully tried to get me addicted to what they described as the best MMO :p Eventually they made me go get my own damn game because they wanted their computer back – muwahahahaha.

As an newbie orc in the barrens with a token pig I first I tried to tame a zebra, and failed (it amuses me that Mania wants one too – those stabby horns look dangerous enough to take into battle to many people eh), in disgust I marched to the Forsaken lands and tamed a real ‘horde’ wolf – my first black worg. Wolves were an accidentally fortunate choice at that time, with some good attack and movement speeds and thus without knowing anything I ended up with an okay pet. As a bonus they matched my mount and in the days when pets ran behind your mount wolves seemed like one of the the best pets to have, even after they removed the pets ability to attack mobs that hit you, because the wolf would howl and draw aggro. Making it very easy to speed ride through places like the plague lands at a lower level and leave the aggro with your pet, heh.

However just as Mania describes in the podcast the pet skill system was somewhat of a mystery to me. I used my other two stable slots to keep the myriad of other random pets I tamed while looking for pet skills – in the beginning you don’t even have beast lore to check what the little beasties have before you make them your own so it was like shooting into the dark. That is how I originally discovered the true joy of Petopia and TKA something. There really is nothing in wow to tell you what skills are where and which pets can learn these skills at whatever level. O_O

Of course thanks to the pet skill business I have owned everything from gorilla to turtle (had to have all those skills … just in case), but I always cleaved back to the wolf.

Anyways this whole skill issue means that at most a hunter can have two permanent pets. Currently I would say that for me they be the cat (dps and pvp) and the carrion bird (tanking). That third slot is considered empty and typically will cycle whatever pet I am experimenting with. Hopefully skills won’t be such an issue with the expansion because I can see myself wanting a pet to fall into each talent tree (if not more *insert the usual hunter stable sigh here*)… la sigh.

(NB: I think blizzard was eavesdropping on Mania’s interview because we do have a variety of buffing pet foods these days and I hear pet moths will be included with the upcoming expansion lol)

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, Hunter, Old Blog Content, Pets, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft, WotLK and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Housekeeping reveals… I'm a wolf-girl really… only in warcraft :p

  1. Brajana says:

    Ah, pets of the past! I feel sad that I can’t actually remember what my first pet was… but I had a turtle for a really long time, from Hillsbrad to Un’goro, where I got the nice white rare gorilla!

    One thing I do remember though – the first untamable beast I tried to tame: Barrens Giraffe! Man, that would have been cool!

  2. Dave says:

    Love the blog. Great post, thanks!

Leave a Reply

