My Track Stealth License – came from the bottom of a corn-flakes box

Just wondering, does Track Stealth actually work for any hunter at 70?

I mean sometimes … but only sometimes… I see them coming. Most of the time rogues and druids must have improved stealth or something because I see nothing – nor does the pet detect anything extra. This skill seems to only be useful in PVE and even then flare is shite-loads better.

Grumble – stupid detect stealth – grumble.

Its what? like one time in 15 when it actually gives you a blip on the mini map? and one time in 10 when it shows you the rogue coming up from behind? and I bet I was buffed for stealth detection by some other class the time that happened. 

Heh, mind you hunters are still sweetly OP when it comes to detection of incomings *great green hunter wanders off to stroke the flares in her quiver some* … sweet sweet flare.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Battlegrounds, Great Green Hunter, Hunter, Old Blog Content, PVP, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Track Stealth License – came from the bottom of a corn-flakes box

  1. toque says:

    I don’t know but just throwing this thought out. A lot of rogues who pvp are shadowstep builds, so they can step instantly behind you from 25 yards away. That would pretty much bypass any stealth detection you might have.

  2. Lactic Acid says:

    Shadow step gives me the heebie jeebies – still haven’t got a good method of dealing with it. Hmm suppose that could be it ^_^

  3. Garumoo says:

    !) Drop a freeze trap and take two steps forward and wait for them to shadowstep.

    2) From my experience, Track Stealth works just like Track Beasts and so on .. if I could see them, then they’ll appear on the minimap .. but it doesn’t actually increase my ability to *detect* stealth. In PvE this is handy, just stand someplace you expect the sneaky buggers, and watch your minimap and you’ll soon enough find them. In PvP though, the stealth hostile isn’t patting back and forth oblivious to you, it has nastier thoughts in mind.

  4. Lactic Acid says:

    I use the “icecube @ my back” trick when I can (managing cooldowns in PVP is one of the things I really need to brush up on) 🙂 I adore the ice cube when it works – love love.

    Hmmm I rather like your take on the true purpose of track stealth & the minimap – I guess it really is more of a PVE skill for dumb-mob detection, my alts feel blind in comparison – finding shadowmaw panthers for that STV quest takes forever.

    I have had some luck where Track Stealth and crazy random running will let me see druids wandering close by (which the pet can then flush and I can mark & sting for the rest of the party)… but generally it doesn’t help me detect the rogues – the shadowstep really could be whats happening there.

  5. Lactic Acid says:

    Does silence stop a rogue casting shadowstep? I might go look that up.

    I find a shadowstepping rogue really hard to shake now I no longer have improved wingclip or silence (which I think prevented the rogue casting? in any case it seemed to help.)

    Currently with the new spec I can trap em (they can trinket) if I am lucky I can trap em again, I can burn intimidate if it’s up to get some distance – I can burn BW the next time to get some distance. But I waste a lot of time running and not doing damage, and I feel very reliant on cooldowns… sigh I had better look for some play guides – I think I may need them, I loath feeling like a bad player.

Leave a Reply

