I feel like I have entered the Promised Land

It’s been a long long time since I PVPed with an alt lower than 60+ – 70.

But last night I was floating around up in the arathi highlands grinding a few quests for my neglected level 37 Priest. And of course she hadn’t done the ‘cap four AB nodes’ quest you can pick up off the orcs out back of Hammerfall and I thought “oh heck I’m sick of killing syndicate, let’s attempt to knock some alliance on the head.”

So off I went; a shadow priest in healing gear, not twinked (got plus minor run speed on my boots because the lack of a mount deadens my soul, but that’s about it really), no special macros or interfaces (don’t play the priest enough to bother), a less than stella talent spec (too cheap to respec things proper at this level) and the last time I trained my spells was about 3-4 levels ago. The best I had going for me was that ‘Word: Pain’ was key bound to my usual ‘wingclip’ key and ‘Fear’ was bound to my usual manual ‘Kill Command’ key (I spam these instinctively) – I wasn’t expecting much from the experience.

The experience was awesome.

I don’t know if the alliance on at that hour and that level just had no experience or something but damn the horde was working real nice (4-5 caps every game, and I played about 7.) The lack of resilience was like meeting the Promised Land … none of this pumping a damn hundred stack of arrows into some druid just to watch em escape the range of silence and aimed shot and HOT up… toons just died. If they didn’t die right off the bat I got to fear and DOT them till they died – playing priest in AB was rather like making alliance yoyos. DOT em up, fear them out, mind flay em back in, shield and renew and run around a LOS point a bit (quick little priest jumps over the big brown fence) – rinse and repeat. And I got to buff hunter pets. I buffed them before players cause the pets don’t yell at you in caps lock – bwahahahaha. Hunters started bypassing my flag (can’t handle an unguarded flag – priest or no) to get their free pet buffs – it was much fun. I had a whole stack of light feather in my bag and every game I just ‘feather-jumped’ to shortcut cliffs and water – made me feel super.

(I still have more than 500 bleeding light feathers because at some point I got it in my head the 99 feather quiver was like 999 feathers … so I collected them, junked out my bank, found out the truth, and passed em all out to my priest blerg.)

Actually went and trained some priest skills after all that fuss. I hear shadow-priests are like paladin party-candy, so I’ll give some thought about getting this sod to 70. Pity BG honor at this lvl is suckful.

Plans for next BG:
• Use mind control
• Use mind vision
• See how long I can keep a yoyo alive without them killing me.
• Top the heal charts

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Battlegrounds, Great Green Hunter, Old Blog Content, Priest, PVP, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I feel like I have entered the Promised Land

  1. Taiin- Azshara says:

    Hahahaha!!! *ahem* I’m not laughing at you, of course. Going through some google searches I landed on your blog, and after reading this entry of amazing pvp-ness only one thought came to my mind (out of sarcasm) “Gee, she must be in my battlegroup.. Dx” After a little bit of reseach, and not to my own surprise, YES! you’re in my battlegroup, and who am I? Alliance … we suck. My advice to you? get as much honor as you can! ‘cuz you’ll never lose, rofl!.. well.. you’ll lose.. just, not as much. Grats on the priest experience btw ._. you make it sound so easy!

  2. Lactic Acid says:

    hee that’s an awesome coincidence 🙂 – I tell you though alliance up in the 70’s bracket can give me (and horde groups) a real run for money, so I was really really surprised by the experience.

    I believe strongly that different times of day get you different results in a battle group ^_^ its all about finding the ‘lucky hour’ err and getting in early on dailies before the alliance guilds and gladiators come out to play lol.

Leave a Reply

