Group Dynamics

Semi-local friends of mine are hitting the 60-70 mark which means I can now run round with them in my hunter outfit (as opposed to one of my multitudes of lower leveled alts) and by run around with: read *gear runs through non-outlands dungeons*(a lot of the content that I missed as I skipped straight from 50 to 60+ and into the outlands with the expansion patch in what felt like a week.)

Now usually a dungeon run for my ~hee~ ‘little’ buddies just involves more of standard hunter solo play. Kinda like how I would farm the instance, only I don’t bother looting and just slam though the instance at top speed – while yelling “stay back behind the trap”.

Now at this point it’s weird because no one is exactly squishy anymore but nor are we a proper level 70 group that marks up their kills and CC ‘s mobs all nice and neat.

Case in-point:

We were doing a Stratholme run with 4 to get an epic pally mount – our lineup was a tank pally, a DPS warlock (with the tank pet out), restro druid for heals and my hunter toon as a kinda-bodyguard, DPS and pet off tank.

Hmm it actually worked okay… my biggest problem was aggro.

 I was the only one with omen installed – so I had no way to tell when my threat level was higher than the rest of the party. With the pet I was fine :p but it wasn’t that relevant because I was using him mostly to either off tank any random gold elite  or to ‘save the tree’.

With my recent respect to marksman I was gaining a lot more aggro than my level 60 buddies … even when using mostly autoshot because of all the extra crits.

It is actually kind of hard to tell by watching just how much aggro a pally tank has build up … every 2-3 pulls I was fine because I could simply misdirect to him and fire at will. But the lack of obvious sunders and & marks made it a little confusing.

 ****************

For me the pally tank is a relatively new concept.  I am a true blue hordie, used to warriors and bear-butts (bear-butts were 2nd best back in the day… I feel so old.) To me, until recently, pallys were Alliance-bubble-hearth-gankers who you would eye-ball from a distance because even if they /waved at you –  you knew that as soon as you faced the other way and attempted to pull a mob they would be all over you like mould on last week’s leftovers. Heck I used to follow Alliance pally’s at a discrete distance in the plague lands and wait for them to attempt to gank a fellow hordie … where upon I would charge out of the bushes with my pet to make it a 3 on one (not count the aggro’ed mobs.)

 ****************

So yeah … worken with a pally – its interesting. My pally friend thinks they rock (he is a horde shaman normally) and he does seem to tank well – also we make him heal himself (joke is we make him tank and heal – goof offs that we are.) I ended up setting him as focus and using my assist macro.

And the warlock had a not-so-quiet word with me about pulling mobs out of the AOE fire bombs she was dropping (but I reckon 10 levels and omen would fix that.) It was interesting with the two pet off-tanks we did end up with a few extra  inc MOBs – and the pally attack seemed to basically be a mass aggro  effect – which meant we were wiping out huge crowds of undead mobs – which if we could keep them off the tree and the lock worked out OK. They came in waves.

The tree could heal like a son-of-a-bark… I was pretty impressed.

Final Opinion:

It worked fine – will be a nice level 70 group to dungeon crawl with. Had plenty of time to enjoy the scenery, and boy Stratholme is pretty … in that end of the world kinda way.

Stratholme1

Incidentally there was a small wipe at one point where the ‘two who rez ‘ (aka: pally & tree) were killed off – and the lock got picked off on the way back to the gate to collect the others due to respawn issues… when I realized that I wasn’t actually aggroing anything around me o_O at which point I simply strolled back past the mobs of undead to the front gate.

So yeah – lovey place & it looks like a level 70 can practically treat it like a walk in the park – worth checking out if it was content you didn’t bother with.

About Bytes

Guild Officer, one of those elderly burnt out officer types. My current main is a Hunter (MS the under-dog talent tree Beast Master.) Together with my virtual cat I battle evil, kick butt and take names. I am interested in research and new technology RealLife side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Great Green Hunter, Old Blog Content, PVE, Snake in the Grass, World of warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Group Dynamics

  1. Silvergirl says:

    Woot! That’s me in the pic … the fuzzy looking one with the staff on her back! Woot, I’m famous!!!

  2. Lactic Acid says:

    Ahahahhaaaa!

    Hey you were one of the last men (chicks? undead girl?) standing after that mostly wipe ^_^ – thats hard hore – why not be famous too.

Leave a Reply

