Replacing Google Reader with some other RSS reader I can stand the face of

Well I am a lazy peep about some things (and that includes transferring 400+ RSS’ed blogs to a new reader.) So the platforms I have been trying are the ones out there anticipating the close of Google reader which are offering ‘quick’ import buttons which link to your Google reader account and extract all RSS.

Hum and despite it all I have pretty much tried the WordPress reader and disliked the spammy billboard look (although the twitter like follow suggestions were cool.) But navigation to a particular blog – or a carefully grouped folder of ..say priest bloggers was pretty much not going to happen.

Currently I am playing with Feedly (requires Chrome or somesuch):

feedly

And I am looking at The Old Reader:

old reader

Alas although I went to google and retrieved my RSS as a ‘Takeaway’ so that I could upload the feeds (2step process, no where near as simple as feedly) I am still waiting for them to finish processing my import … its been a day. The old reader does look like a possibility beyond the wait… if the import ever comes through.

Hum and I was once a Bloglines peep (my first RSS catcher actually) but they threatened to close which is how I ended up on Google in the first place… so perhaps now that they claim “they are not going anywhere” I’ll check them out again. [EDIT - tried this and couldn't get past their 'migration' button /sigh]

The Ancient Gaming Noob put me onto Feedly (Bless you Ancient Gaming Noob) so here is that post ‘Google Reader Alternatives? Again?‘ and other collected readings listed below :)

About Bytes

Guild Officer, occasional raid leader and 10man raid healer. My current main is a Disc Priest (OS Shadow). I am interested in research and new technology RL side. These skills carry over into the hobby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Replacing Google Reader with some other RSS reader I can stand the face of

  1. lonomonkey says:

    Hey there,

    It’s a bit late here but I wanted to take the time to congratulate you on your blog. You have an energy about the game that make me wish I could go back to the time when I just had a blast playing and was not seeing the gear turns all the time. People like you got me blogging in the first place so many years ago.

    In any case, great blog and keep it up!

  2. Bytes says:

    Hee many thanks :3 It’s my goldfish brain – heh everytime it sees the Serpent of the fang set from vanilla to Pandaria it responds with “Oh its so very purple – oh my lookit me I am wearing purple pants with gold snakes – I must strut this…. get me my eye patch!!” (http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Goldfish&defid=3641903) ..cough its also possible that wow cracked my brain just a little as I giggle madly in the corner everytime the RNG gives me yet another bag of gold O_O

Leave a Reply

